We may expect an easy path when doing what we are supposed to do. This isn’t true. The path  isn’t meant to be easy. It’s meant to be worth it.

It’s safe to say my life completely flipped around this last week in a spiral of change and stress. I HAD MY HAIRCUT!!! It was crazy! I honestly thought I was going to cry like a little girl, but I didn’t. I had all of my family and friends at the haircut. Having them all watching me do this made all my stresses go away. I was doing what I needed to do… And that was just fine. Having short hair is pretty cold. Did you guys know it’s that cold outside? Geez. Plus, no one recognizes me anymore. It’s kinda cool. It’s like I’m a brand new person. Oh, and a shout out to all those who “felt bad” for me and tried to sway me. Jokes on you, I look even more handsome with short hair.

Before:

IMG_0969

After:

FullSizeRender (7)

 

Now I will talk about another thing that happened this week. Yesterday I got the call saying that I have lost my job. I was replaced. I wasn’t given any notice that this was going to happen. Also, the owners were completely aware I was preparing to serve a mission. I was given no time to try to find something else while I still had a source of income…. But hey… That’s business right? Well it is. That’s the way this world tends to work. However a quote  from Joseph Smith comes to mind. “Maybe I am meant to swim in deep water. Better deep than shallow.”

I honestly felt relieved when the call was finished. I felt completely at peace. I had a strong feeling that everything was going to be okay. The thing is, we may think the world is falling apart, but The Lord has a plan for us. There are bigger things happening that we don’t understand. Now, I have no  idea how I will pay for anything to live, let alone get all the things I need for a mission. Luckily I do have a bit of savings. I will continue to move forward. I will continue to have faith.

The very day I lost my job, I had someone willing to take my spot at my townhouse.  This was an incredible blessing. Finding another position that’s willing to take me on when I am about to leave on a mission may be difficult, but it’s not  impossible. We can decide whether or not we fall, or keep going. I’m going to keep going. I’m going to make it.

All of  this was a big step for  me. We can do hard things. We can all do  hard things. Maybe the thing that’s hard for you is just as silly as my haircut, or maybe it’s much bigger. However, we can do them. I came from a home with an abusive father, and lived in government subsidized housing…. Or else we would have been completely homeless. Statistically, I shouldn’t be where I’m at in life. But I never gave up. I kept going. Sure, I may have strayed from the path for a while. However, it’s what I needed to find out what I truly believe. And I will serve valiantly, for I have been blessed with the gift of trials. These  trials have shaped me into the kind of person that can bless others who have been in similar situations as me. I call trials, gifts. And I must give my gift to others. There are so many out there waiting to hear a message from me. I have no problem putting my life on hold for two years to do so. And It won’t stop after the two years are over.

I would like to end with a quote from the movie: Joseph Smith- Prophet of the Restoration

Emma Smith: “Do you ever think he asks too much?”
Joseph Smith: “I do not let myself.”

Remember you can follow me on Instagram Here

If you want to contact me directly email jhulon16@gmail.com

Also, if you are a man in the Utah County area and would like a haircut or shave from the best barber around. Go see, Reise.  He did my haircut, and I couldn’t have been happier with the result. You can schedule an appointment online at his website The Man Barber

If you want to  follow this blog click on the three lines at the top right of your screen. It will bring down a window where you can follow the journey.  If you are  on a phone you will see the word “follow” at the top of the screen.

1604500_661835001089_7308081348991780753_n

2014-11-29 17.34.21

2014-11-29 16.41.402014-11-29 16.24.102014-11-29 16.24.172014-11-29 17.32.532014-11-29 17.36.56

20 thoughts on “No Hair, No Job, No Problem

  1. I just started following your journey and have to say that your long curly hair was out of this world awesome!!! I do also have to say that I like the after a little more…it really allows your face to be the focal point, and you have a great face….not to sound all weird or anything! Anyway, good luck with finding a job and a place to live. Also, a scarf will help with the cold breeze now that your hair is gone, I’m sure you’ve figured that our already! 😀

    Like

  2. Wow! A friend posted a link to your blog the other day and I started to follow. You look AWESOME and way better! Love your short hair! Congrats and good luck on your mission!

    Like

  3. Try Temp services and the Church Employment center. Good jobs there sometimes.

    I hope you are keeping all your posts. they can be turned into a book that I’m sure would be published!

    Best of everything to you.

    paulaj in SE Utah

    From: Hippie To Missionary Sent: Saturday, December 06, 2014 12:37 PM To: albumania@citlink.net Subject: [New post] No Hair, No Job, No Problem

    jhulon16 posted: “We may expect an easy path when doing what we are supposed to do. This isn’t true. The path isn’t meant to be easy. It’s meant to be worth it. It’s safe to say my life completely flipped around this last week in a spiral of change and stress. I HAD MY”

    Like

  4. I love your faith and dedication to following the Lord!! I will look forward to your posts eagerly! Is there anywhere we can make a donation to your mission fund??

    Like

  5. I promise im not stalking you haha (: but seriously dude, love!!! You’re definitely inspiring! God loves you so much its awesome and the trials youre facing are ones He knows you can overcome! Keep up the amazing attitude!! (: ❤

    Like

  6. I have had your post notification sitting in my e-mail because I haven’t had time to read it…..I did just now and it was EXACTLY what I needed to hear. I had a tough and busy week and things have been stressful. Then, today my check engine light came on. It was just one too many things and I was done.

    I came home and sat at my computer hoping there was an encouraging e-mail from a friend or something and your notice was still at the top of my list. I opened it, read it and cried. Thank you for sharing the hard things, as well as the easy. I can do hard things. That is the motto at our house and I had just forgotten it for a moment. You brought it to my mind right when I needed it.

    I know the Lord had me wait to read your post until this very moment. Thank you for sharing your journey.

    Christy

    PS
    I loved the old hair but I love the new hair even more!! 🙂

    Like

  7. I’d like to donate to your mission fund. You are an inspiration to my teenage boys. Pls let us know your ward and stake so we can make donations.

    Like

  8. I love what you referred to your trials as. We all have trials. Some of us have much more than others. As a convert who has had many in my past I see my trials as gifts too. They have shaped me and I can relate to many who are out there searching to fill that emptiness with the wrong things as I did. You will be able to do the same. You will be a great missionary. Look for those who are heavy laden and down and out.

    Like

  9. My son puts his papers in for his mission in Feb. and has already started as much of the paperwork as he can do at this point. I hope, somehow, you two are companions as I pray he will serve with someone like you….

    Like

  10. I have loved to be able to read about your journey so far. I started my papers in October, and I just barely got them officially in on Tuesday! My journey has definitely been different than I expected. But like you said, things aren’t meant to be easy, but they are meant to be WORTH IT. And it SO WAS! The night I received the phone call that we could finally put my papers in, all the emotions that had been building up. just came pouring out, and it was PURE JOY. Everything I had gone through, every trial. since three months before was suddenly WORTH IT. Like you said, the trials were really a gift in disguise. They helped me become stronger, and better prepared. The Lord knows what we need to help us become better and stronger. He will never give us anything we can’t handle, even if at times we wonder if we can, we have to know that He is there every step of the way.
    Thank you for sharing your journey and your testimony.

    Like

  11. So, I just found this, don’t remember how exactly, but it is EXACTLY what I have been needing to hear. You are such an inspiration! I hope to be able to keep up with your journey. You will be such a great missionary!
    Your haircut looks great by the way!

    Like

  12. Not to sound creepy (and I sincerely apologize if it does!) but the new cut is supes attractive! You won’t have problems getting dates when you get home. #holla

    Like

Leave a Reply

